Children’s Book Council of Australia ACT Awards

Laurie Copping Award for Distinguished Service to Children’s Literature (Biennial)
Awarded in odd years, the Laurie Copping Award for Dis Distinguished Service to Children’s Literature honours people who have given service well beyond his or her professional association with children’s literature primarily within the ACT .

ACT Life Membership Awards
This award was previously given to CBCA ACT Members who had made a significant contribution to Australian Children’s Literature and the Children’s Book Council of Australia ACT Branch.

Children’s Book Council of Australia Awards

Book of the Year Awards (Annual)
A set of annual awards provided by the Children’s Book Council of Australia in a number of categories; Older Readers, Younger Readers, Early Childhood, Picture Book and the Eve Pownall Award for Information Books.

Nan Chauncy Awards (Biennial)
Awarded in even years, the Nan Chauncy Awards honours people who have made a significant contribution to Australian children’s literature.

Other CBCA Awards… scroll to below the Nan Chauncy Award information to see the complete list of the other National and Branch awards.

Australian Awards

ACT Writing and Publishing Awards – Children’s Section (Annual)
An annual award to recognise, reward and promote writing by ACT region authors that has been published by small publishers or self-published. These awards are administered by the ACT Writers Centre.

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature – Children’s/Young Adult categories  (Biennial)
A biennial award to celebrate Australia’s writing culture.

Aurealis Awards – Children’s and Young Adult categories (Annual)
The Aurealis Awards recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

Australian Book Industry Awards – Younger and Older Children categories (Annual)
The award recognises Australian new-release titles that booksellers most enjoyed reading, marketing and handselling during the past year.

Davitt Award – Children/Young Adult Fiction categories (Annual)
Awarded for the best crime books by Australian women, this national writing award is presented by Sisters in Crime.

Dorthera MacKellar Poetry Award (March-June Annually)
The oldest and largest poetry competition for school-aged children in Australia, it aims to give Australia’s youth a voice and an opportunity to strive for excellence in literature.

Ena Noël Award (Biennial)
The Australian IBBY Encouragement Award for Children’s Literature (Ena Noël Award) is presented to a young developing Australian writer or illustrator under the age of 35.

Indie Awards – Children & Young Adult Fiction category (Annual)
Awarded by panels of independent booksellers and readers by Leading Edge Books members.

Inky Awards (Annual)
An annual award recognising high-quality young adult literature, with the longlist and shortlist selected by young adults and the winners voted for online. The Gold Inky Award is for an Australian book and the Silver Inky Award for an international book.

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards – Children/Young Peoples categories  (Annual)
An annual award to highlight the importance of literacy and to honour distinguished achievement by Australian writers.

NSW Premier’s History Awards – Young Peoples categories  (Annual)
An annual award to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residences.

Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes (Annual) – no specific category for children or young adults
An annual award to celebrate the richness the literacy sector of Tasmanian writers.

Territory Reads Awards – Children & Young Adult category 
An annual award to showcase the talent and professional achievements of published Northern Territory writers.

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards – Children’s Fiction Category and Young Adult Fiction Category (Annual)
An annual award recognising excellence in Australian literature over 6 categories.

Queensland Literary Awards – Children/Young Adult categories  (Annual)
An annual award to recognise and reward outstanding Australian writers.

Speech Pathology Awards (Annual)
An annual award aims to promote children’s books as literacy tools, as well as raising awareness of the role of speech pathologists play in helping children develop language and literacy skills.

The Text Prize (Annual)
An annual search for the best unpublished manuscript written by an Australian or New Zealander for young adults or children.

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards – Young Adult category  (Annual)
An annual award to honour literary achievement in by Australian authors.

Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards – Children’s/Young Adult categories  (Biennial)
A biennial award to honour and celebrate achievements by Western Australian writers.

International Awards

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (Annual)
Litteraturpriset till Astrid Lindgrens minne (Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award) is an international children’s literary award established by the Swedish government in 2002. The prize is five million SEK, making it the richest award in children’s literature and one of the richest literary prizes in the world.

Hans Christian Anderson Award (Biennial)
Presented by the International Board on Books for Young People, this is awarded to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.

Literary Classics International Book Awards (Annual)
42 separate awards of which 26 are specifically aimed at children and young adult authors and illustrators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.